Thank you for a wonderful DLES14 Workshop in Erlangen!

Group picture DLES

Some more pictures.

See you in 2026 for DLES15 in Delft!

Direct and Large Eddy Simulation (DLES) Workshops

The Institute of Fluid Mechanics (LSTM) is proud to host the 14th edition of the Workshop Series on Direct and Large Eddy Simulation (DLES) on April 10-12, 2024. Started in 1994, this biennial event focuses on cutting-edge methods for simulating turbulent flows, emphasizing the capture of instantaneous turbulent flow structures either in part or in its entirety. As computational capabilities expand, so does the significance of this approach, even for flows at higher Reynolds numbers. Hybrid modeling strategies that merge LES and RANS techniques, including in particular wall modelling for LES, also fall within the scope of the workshop.

The goal of the workshop is to establish a state-of-the-art of DNS, LES and related techniques for the computation and modelling of turbulent and transitional flows. The broad range of topics that the DLES-14 will focus on are (but not limited to):


  • Fundamentals and modeling of LES
  • Data assimilation and uncertainties quantification
  • Advanced computational methods and numerics
  • High-performance computing for turbulence
  • Heat and mass transfer and MHD
  • Multi-phase flows
  • Biological flows
  • Environmental and geophysical flows
  • Combustion and reactive flows
  • Industrial applications

Important dates:

  • Abstract submission opens: October 2023
  • Submission deadline: Extended to Thursday, December 14 2023
  • Notification of acceptance: January 2024
  • Registration: late registration until April 12, 2024
  • Conference: April 10-12, 2024
  • Proceedings articles/Invited papers: May 2024

The DLES14 is organised together with ERCOFTAC and the EuroHPC Centre of Excellence in Exascale CFD (CEEC).


Past DLES Workshops:

  • DLES13: Udine, 2022
  • DLES12: Madrid, 2019
  • DLES11: Pisa, 2017
  • DLES10: Limassol, 2015
  • DLES9: Dresden, 2013
  • DLES8: Eindhoven, 2010
  • DLES7: Trieste, 2008
  • DLES6: Poitiers, 2005
  • DLES5: Munich, 2003
  • DLES4: Enschede, 2001
  • DLES3: Cambridge, 1999
  • DLES2: Grenoble, 1996
  • DLES1: Surrey, 1994